Cosplay and Being Famous?

YES BACK TO THIS TOPIC AGAIN? 有完没完啊?

But I had a short chat with this friend and we kinda came to this topic.
well, I just wanna drill my point to the brains of the people who wanna make use of cosplays to become famous.


IF YOU WANNA BE FAMOUS BY COSPLAYING, I SUGGEST YOU GO TAKE PART IN SOME IDOL PROGRAM OR PUT YOUR NUDE PIC AS YOUR DP. IT IS FASTER.


previously I had this as my FB status.
I’m quite sure a lot of them mistook the meaning of it. PFFFFT-


I tried to explain but erm, somehow I feel the need to explain even clearer. HAHA!
because you see, my engrish is not good at all so ppl might misunderstand what is my point.

let me use an example.
if let’s say drinking strawberry milk makes you pretty. (random example LOL)
Person A drinks it because he/she likes strawberry milk and don’t really care about the pretty part.
Person B drinks it just because he/she wants to be pretty. But may not like the taste so much.

SEE? THERE IS A FUCKING DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THIS TWO PEOPLE EVENTHO THEY ARE BOTH DRINKING STRAWBERRY MILK.
What I’m saying is, please treat cosplay like person A, do it only if you like it, not with a wrong purpose.
You can cosplay for all sorts of reason, but becoming famous SHOULD NEVER be one of it.

and if you notice, if you do it for a wrong reason, not only you will not be able to succeed but you won’t be able to hold it for the long term.
WHY? NO PASSION. -end of story lol-

Person A will continue to drink it no matter what because he/she loves the taste.
Person B will get tired one day and might even hate strawberry milk someday after trying to drink it sometime.

see the difference?
and here I go again,

I AM NOT SAYING YOU CANNOT BE FAMOUS FROM COSPLAYING.
BUT ‘BECOME FAMOUS’ SHOULD NOT BE YOUR REASON FOR COSPLAY.

Person A can become pretty because she drinks alot of strawberry milk.
But Person B is different, she wants to be pretty that is why she drink the strawberry milk.

We all have cosplayers we admire, idolize or whatever you call it.
but they don’t become our idol just like that.
because they do well, they put their heart into cosplay and THEY UNDERSTAND THE CHARACTER WELL.
very important alright?

the problem is that the cosplayers nowadays, cosplay for pretty/handsome or FIRST to do etc.
WHATEVER HAPPEN TO FAVORITE SERIES/CHARACTERS?!
I have people asking me if they can cosplay Gintoki or some characters from Gintama since they know I am a big fan.
When I asked if they watched the series, they answer nope.

NOPE? YOU FUCKING KIDDING ME?
YOU WANNA DIE IN WHAT WAY? TELL ME!
WHUT DA FARK SERIOUSLY?

urgh, random rant.
I’m upset because the original idea of cosplay is no longer around.
which is a hobby for people to bring their favorite characters to life.

4 thoughts on “Cosplay and Being Famous?

  1. Cosplay is same as modelling, but the only slack here is that if you’re DAMN good at it and put in real passion into it, you won’t HAVE to post nudes anywhere.

    As far as it being a hobby, while it is, who said one can’t make a career out of it? Tailors, get paid to sew; prop makers get paid to build replicas; models get paid to look good (to a certain degree).

    So, passion is key, but you should never cap your dreams.

    • nice comment.
      but I won’t say cosplaying is modelling because they are actually quite different in my opinion.
      Cosplaying involves researching on the character, making sure everything you wear and portray IS the character. And of course, most of the time it involves you making / buying the costume/wigs/etc yourself. You are the one choosing the characters and versions.Then, in the very first place, this is not being paid by anyone else. (lets not talk about working as a cosplayer, etc)

      As for modelling, you are being paid and even though there is a certain theme, you are not so restrict to a certain character / poses. Plus most of the time the outfits are given and not bought/chosen by the models.

      Yep I agree you can make a career out of it. Nothing wrong with that.
      But please do note my main point in this post is on being famous.
      You can become famous from cosplaying because you are good. But, you should never cosplay if all you wanted is to be famous.

      I hope you get my idea of this post. :)

  2. If someone tries to cos JUST to be famous, they’ll fall naturally come some interview or them just becoming part of the masses without any flavor. I wouldn’t even worry about those kinda people.

    In turn, imagine this from a tailor/prop maker’s perspective: if they want to make a career out of it, they may choose to have a model display their work, which would fall under both really.

    • “if they want to make a career out of it, they may choose to have a model display their work”

      -this is different, the models made to wear these costumes are not cosplayers.
      they can also be paid to help showcase the costume which is absolutely no issue.

      unless they wish to become famous by wearing these costume and calling themselves a ‘cosplayer’. that will be what I’m saying in the post, A WRONG MINDSET.

Leave a Reply

